Daily Prompt: Judgement Day – The Lady in Pink Boots

If you were to judge your favorite book by its cover, would you still read it?

Image

picture taken from: http://www.lspace.org/books/pqf/men-at-arms.html

I bought this book back then when I was still in Indonesia. I found it in a small book store that only sold imported books, which was tucked in, almost like being hidden, in one corner of Pondok Indah, South Jakarta. The name of the book store is Book Worm. I was there actually to meet a friend, someone who would later played an important role in my life.

As I was perusing over the shelves, I landed on a book that caught my attention. The cover was swarmed with people..eh..on a second thought one of them looked more like a giant with stony, bulky face…swarmed with creatures in medieval costumes and carrying weapons of all sorts. Well, the title is Men at Arms, so this must have something to do with the army or wars. Not really my cup of tea, but I was intrigued anyway. There was something comical in the way the illustrator created the cover, but at the same time it sort of felt like a tension build up, like a war was about to happen. At the same time, I also caught a hint of an adventure with a female character at the center of the stage by looking at that lady in an armor, with a gleaming sword in her hand, a fierce expression on her face. And she is wearing PINK boots! I couldn’t help but to reach and grab this book. One read at the synopsis and the writer’s short bio then I was hooked!

Now, I am a fan of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels. I have read almost every one of them and they never fail to entertain, amuse, and at the same time make me feel a little bit wiser. So if you ask me whether I would still read my favorite book if I was to judge it by its cover, the answer is a definite YES.

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Judgement Day – The Lady in Pink Boots

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Judgment Day | Joe's Musings

    • Indeed, Pak. The latest nuclear threat is from North Korea. I hope they didn’t go through with their plan. The outcome would be devastating if countries start to use nuclear weapons to attack their enemies.

    • That’s cool! Don;t worry, I only judge book cover and not that often either, only when the cover is really eye-catching. Most of the time, I determine whether to read a book or not by reading the synopsis on the back cover.

Makasih ya udah kasih komen.

