Contentment

Wordsmith Challenge #16


What really fascinates me about them are the way they always seem to be in a hurry.
Small steps, big steps, are all in a rush to go somewhere, to get something.
While here under this wooden chair, I am stretching and licking my furry tail,
Walking with lazy sways, as gracefully as I will always be.

They have breakfast on the table instantly, as their food is made.
Some even only grab a breakfast bar to munch while on their way.
I prefer having mine a little at a time, slowly enjoying each and every bite.
I can always leave and go back whenever I want, or to just leave them half way done.

They have this thing that click-clocking and control their daily moves.
A worrisome look always befalls whenever they look at this moving arrows.
I am much pleased with observing and thanking the Lord that in my case
There is no such things as having to work or do the household chores.

But most of all I wonder why they rarely smile or look happy.
Sometimes they do when they are mesmerized by that glowing box of light,
Or having things I am certain they do not really need to own.
Well for me, I am perfectly fine with a loving stroke and a warm embracing hand.

12 thoughts on “Contentment

  1. ow….ow….i think i have the same contentment with you….we can’t go back, we’ve been enjoyed every little thing that happened…but his smile can change everything 🙂

  2. nanabiroe said: ow….ow….i think i have the same contentment with you….we can’t go back, we’ve been enjoyed every little thing that happened…but his smile can change everything 🙂

    Thanks for reading this Nana. Yes, having someone who loves you is more than anything money can buy.

  3. This is lovely, Sayang. Very well written. And good food for thought – maybe we should all look at life through the eyes of a cat now and then.Congratulations on having the courage to post your writing. I know it can be very intimidating. I am very impressed not only by the skill with which you write but by your unique point of view. I am looking forward to reading more of your writing. 🙂

  4. flowerchild3 said: This is lovely, Sayang. Very well written. And good food for thought – maybe we should all look at life through the eyes of a cat now and then.Congratulations on having the courage to post your writing. I know it can be very intimidating. I am very impressed not only by the skill with which you write but by your unique point of view. I am looking forward to reading more of your writing. 🙂

    Thank you so much Kira. Your comment really means a lot to me. I have been looking at the challenges and started writing for some of them but unfortunately I always failed to finish them. This one I could do because recently my life has been touched by the presence of a cat. When I saw what you posted as the 16th challenge, I was so surprised by the coincidence. Thanks again for the encouragement.

  5. debbydoes said: “I am perfectly fine with a loving stroke and a warm embracing hand.”me too, me too!I love this!

    Thank you Debby. I finally made it after all this time of postponing, struggling with ideas and expression. To be able to just produce something is such a relief.

  6. tabbynera said: My three cats are nodding their heads in approval. How the world looks through a cat’s eyes – brilliant.

    Thank you so much Pat. I only had a cat for a brief moment but I can see how alluring they are.

Makasih ya udah kasih komen.

